A new study suggests that the number of DUI accidents and convictions has decreased during the last few years due to the increased availability of rideshare apps.
Researchers from the McGovern Medical School at the University of Texas Health Science Centers and other universities published their study “Association of Rideshare Use with Alcohol-Associated Motor Vehicle Crash Trauma” in JAMA Surgery. Researchers evaluated the Houston marketplace before and after rideshare apps became available in the city. They analyzed data from Uber, Google, two Level 1 trauma centers, and Harris County, Texas to reach their results.
According to the research, there were less traumas due to more Uber rides and rideshares. Researchers say that motor vehicle crash traumas decreased by nearly 24 percent on Friday and Saturday nights in Houston. For passengers under 30, the decrease was nearly 40 percent.
How to Avoid a Drunk Driving Crash
While rideshare apps may be helpful in some cases, they are not always available. Avoid getting in a drunk driving crash or facing charges for DUI by:
Making a plan
Whether you use a rideshare app, call a taxi, or travel with a designated driver, make a plan before heading out.
If you want to have a drink or two, staying home might be the safest way of doing it.
Knowing your limits
Try not to drink to excess. Know when alcohol starts to affect you and scale back before getting on the road.
Potential Penalties for Drunk Driving
Under NRS 484C.400, you can face significant penalties if you are convicted of DUI, including:
- First offense – Up to six months in jail or up to 96 hours of community service, requirement to pay for an educational course on alcohol, a fine between $400 and $1,000, and attendance in a treatment program if your BAC was 0.18 percent or above.
- Second offense – Jail time between 10 days and 6 months or residential confinement in a rehabilitation facility for up to 6 months, a fine of $750 to $1,000, and attendance in an alcohol treatment program.
- Third or subsequent offense – A third or subsequent offense within a 7-year period is considered a category B felony. This offense is punishable by between one and six years in a state prison and a fine up to $5,000.
How a Criminal Defense Lawyer Can Help If You Are Facing DUI Charges
If you are facing criminal charges, you need an aggressive defense to protect your legal rights. A conviction can mean the loss of your freedom, driving privileges, and job. At the Law Office of Joel M. Mann, we listen to you with compassion and not judgment. We know the strategies that have been successful in helping avoid convictions for clients just like you. Nevada’s laws also allow for treatment as an alternative to incarceration in some situations, but you need to be able to present a compelling case. We will work tenaciously on your behalf to protect your freedom and your legal rights at every stage of the case.
We offer a free consultation to discuss your case and how we can help. We work within your means and offer an affordable retainer and convenient payment options. Contact us today to get started.
Joel Mann is committed to his clients and works tirelessly on their behalf. His goal is to be an advocate, who can always be counted on to fight for his clients. He firmly believes in keeping the lines of communication to his clients open and in helping him/her understand the process they are experiencing. By treating the client-attorney relationship as a partnership, clients can rest assured that they are getting the best representation possible.