What happens after my first DUI offense? In Nevada the first time a person has been convicted of a DUI they’re looking at up to six months in jail or as little as two days in jail at a minimum. They’re looking at fines up to $1,000.00. They’re looking at community service and various counseling that they need to do such as DUI School, the victim impact panel class. Sometimes even, they’ll be required to take a coroner’s DUI class where they’ll have to go down to the coroner’s office.
They’re also looking at a loss of their license of 90 days and after the first 45 days of that license for a first time offense in Nevada they can actually get a restricted license that allows them to drive to and from work. But at the completion of the 90 days they can get a full license but they will be required to get proof of an SR-22, which is an extra rider of insurance that requires them to hold for three years while they have their license.
Contact me at my office to schedule a free consultation about your first DUI offense.