In 2005, The Nevada legislature has provided that once an individual is convicted of a felony DUI, all subsequent DUI arrests must be charged as a felony DUI with a sentence of between 2 years to 15 years in Nevada State Prison. Additionally, a person convicted of a DUI third offense or of a DUI where death or serious bodily injury occurs will lose his or her license for three years.
Las Vegas Felony DUI Lawyer
Types of Felony DUI Offenses under Nevada Law
Nevada law provides four (4) different ways in which a DUI offense can be charged as a felony including:
- Felony DUI because of a third offense within 7 years;
- Felony DUI causing serious bodily injury;
- Felony DUI causing death; or
- Any DUI case when the person has previously been convicted of a felony DUI.
Punishment for DUI with Death or Serious Bodily Injury under Nevada Law
Under Nevada Revised Statute Section 484.C430 which provides for penalties when a DUI offense causes the substantial bodily harm to, or death of another person is guilty of a category B felony.
The category B felony DUI with serious bodily injury or death is punishable by imprisonment in Nevada State Prison for a minimum term of not less than 2 years and a maximum term of not more than 20 years and a fine between $2,000 to $5,000.
Law Office of Joel M. Mann | Aggressively defending felony DUI charges in Nevada
If you have been charged with any felony DUI offense under Nevada law, contact an experienced Las Vegas DUI defense attorney to discuss possible defenses to fight your charges. Attorney Joel M. Mann represents individuals charged with DUI throughout the greater Las Vegas area including Clark County and the surrounding areas of Nevada.